Advanced Class Guide | Rules | Class Options | Arcanist | Eldritch Font

Eldritch Font

For some arcanists, the power bubbling up from within is nearly too much to contain. They become adept at shaping this magical energy without needing to bind it up in spells.

Font of Power

An eldritch font gains one additional spell slot for each level of arcanist spell she can cast. However, the number of spells of each level that she can prepare decreases by 1. If this reduces her spells prepared for a level to 0, she still gains spell slots of that level, which can be used to fuel her arcane reservoir (using the consume spells class feature) or to cast spells using metamagic feats.

Eldritch Surge

At 3rd level, an eldritch font can, as a swift action, pour more power into her spells and abilities. She can add 2 to the caster level and DC of a spell, or increase her effective arcanist level by 2 when using an arcanist exploit. She becomes fatigued upon using this ability. If she is already fatigued, she becomes exhausted. If she's already exhausted or something would prevent her from becoming fatigued or exhausted, she cannot use this ability. This ability does not stack with expending points from her arcane reservoir to increase the spell's caster level or DC (as the arcane reservoir class feature). Only rest can remove fatigue or exhaustion caused by an eldritch surge—spells and abilities have no effect. This ability replaces the arcanist exploit gained at 3rd level.

Improved Surge

At 7th level, an eldritch font can use her eldritch surge ability to reroll an attack roll associated with a spell or arcanist exploit, or to reroll all of the damage dice associated with a spell or arcanist exploit. In the case of an attack roll, this ability must be used after the die is rolled but before the result is revealed. The eldritch font must take the result of the reroll, even if it's lower. This ability replaces the arcanist exploit gained at 7th level.

Greater Surge

:At 13th level, an eldritch font can use her eldritch surge ability to force a creature to reroll a saving throw against one spell or arcanist exploit and take the lower value. The eldritch font must declare the use of this ability before the result of that creature's saving throw is revealed. If the spell or arcanist exploit affects more than one target, only one target is affected by this ability. This ability replaces the arcanist exploit gained at 13th level.

Bottomless Well

:At 20th level, an eldritch font can spend 1 hour studying her spellbook to refuel herself. Doing so allows her to prepare new spells and regain a number of points in her arcane reservoir equal to 1/2 her level. She can use this ability multiple times per day; however, she still regains spell slots only once per day. This ability replaces magical supremacy.